To Tell or Not to Tell?

We told our then 2 year old that we were going to Mickey’s House for her 3rd Birthday. Honestly, that was the LONGEST 8 months EVER! Every day, she asked “Are we going to Mickey’s House today?” Understandably she was excited, it was her first trip to Disney World and for her Birthday. Honestly, I’m not telling her next time we go until a few days before. Of course, everyone will have their own opinion of the pros and cons of telling their kids they are heading to “The World”.

I tried a few things to get her to understand when we were going. My first was a big calendar and we marked the day we were leaving, when she had preschool, and other special events in between. It worked okay, but she was too young to understand the countdown calendar. Better for kids a little older.

About a month out I made a countdown loops chain and draped it her room. This worked a little better, but yet again for kids a little older.

Other ideas are on Disney’s site when you log in that tell you how many days you have until vacation, I found were count down clocks, countdown meters for your computer all over the web. Buy an inexpensive white board and put it on the fridge and countdown your days too. Wrap a few small boxes and put numbers on them to countdown. My favorites are one you can include you child in like a calendar countdown or loops chain.

Get out your advent calendar and make it look more Disney like. This way you can put Disney stickers, coloring pages, a few crayons, a few dollars in each day. Then your set to travel and the kids will be getting excited each day!

When my daughter gets older we will start doing these craft countdown projects, but until them I’m not telling!

Brande Grieder is the author of this article and has entered The Disney Moms writers contest.  Brande shares a bit about herself: “I’m a homemaker to my wonderful husband who works very hard so I am able to stay home and care for our daughter who will be 4 soon.  I’m as thrifty as I can be, love my coupons and consignments stores!  All for the love of Disney World to save and go as often as possible!”

About disneymomheidi

I'm a stay-at-home, work-at-home, homeschooling mom. I live in central PA with my husband and 3 great kids (ages 18, 11, and 5). We all love Walt Disney World and visit as often as our schedule and finances allow! I like sharing my passion for Disney with others, and meeting new Disney-loving friends. You can find my personal blog at http://heidi-strawser.com.
This entry was posted in Ages 0-4 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Tell or Not to Tell?

  1. Scott Grieder says:

    That was the best week of my life!!!! We had such a great time! Maybe even more fun then our honeymoon @ Disney World!!!! Maybe….

  2. Gail says:

    Thanks for the great Ideas!

  3. Pingback: Winners of The Disney Moms Writers Contest | The Disney Moms

  4. makaela says:

    My little brother saw on disney channel that disney land has cars land and he asked if we could go. I jokingly told him if he saves up enough we can go. he took me seriously. He has a coke bottle piggy bank and hes trying to save up for it. However a six year old doesnt understand how much it will cost hes constantly asking if he has enough

Leave a Reply

