Tips for Flying to Disney

My kids and I are still counting down to our next trip to Disney.  In fact, we are exactly 18 days away from boarding a plane bound for Walt Disney World!

This trip is very different for us, for many reasons:

  • We’ve never traveled to Disney in September before (we normally go in the winter months, or in May),
  • We’ve never gone without my husband before, and
  • We’ve never flown to Disney (we’ve always driven down).

What is your family’s normal mode of transportation to Disney?  Since this is our first time flying, I thought it would be fun to poll some of my blog readers and ask them for their tips on flying to Disney with kids.  I figured that if I was in need of some ideas, maybe you would be as well.  So, here is what they had to say:

Kara says: “We fly with our 3 year old and we always bring her portable DVD player, and a special new toy for takeoff since you can’t have electronics on while taking off.”

Jennifer says: “Load Iphones/Ipods/Ipads with movies for the Plane!!”

Melissa says: “A surprise of new travel sized toys to play with and the DVD player.”

Christina says: “I pack special snacks and a new toy or coloring book for the plane. I get the triangular (preschool crayons, crayons makes them), then you don’t have to worry about traditional crowns rolling off the tray and under the seats.”

Nicole says: “Keep them up all night so they sleep on the flight.”

Sarah says: “Give them their own ‘carry-on’ it will make them fill like a big kid and you don’t have to carry all their stuff in your carry-on.”

Kelly says: “I have 4 kids & we fly every year from Ohio. For the youngest (now 3&5) I get those small backpacks and through out the year if I find something cute and small I get it and put in the bag. A great time to shop is after the holidays when everything is marked down! You can get small trinkets (Valentines Day, Easter etc) for cheap … stampers, stickers etc. By the time our trip rolls around I have a backpack full of goodies and that keeps them occupied for the 2.5 hour flight!”

Ann says: “Earplanes are special earplugs designed to lessen the pressure on your ears when landing. They come in children’s sizes too and are a must for our family!”

Corey says: “Get a Trunki. They’re not too expensive, and they are designed for the kids to ride on. My sister used hers to travel with my niece, and it was so much easier for them to sit her on it, and pull her through the airport, and it meant no stroller in the airport.”

So, what about YOU?  Do you have more tips on flying with children?  Please leave your tips in the comments section below.  Thanks! 

Now, as for me and my kids, we’re just anxious to see this:

About disneymomheidi

I'm a stay-at-home, work-at-home, homeschooling mom. I live in central PA with my husband and 3 great kids (ages 18, 11, and 5). We all love Walt Disney World and visit as often as our schedule and finances allow! I like sharing my passion for Disney with others, and meeting new Disney-loving friends. You can find my personal blog at http://heidi-strawser.com.
This entry was posted in Age 5-12, Ages 0-4, Ages 13-18, Planning Information and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tips for Flying to Disney

  1. Shannan says:

    I’m flying to Disney, for the first time, alone in September! I’m pretty nervous myself.

    • disneymomheidi says:

      Shannon – I’m sure you’ll be fine. Have you flown before? I’ve had to fly for business a few times by myself. I think flying to Disney might be even simpler since you don’t even have to pick up your own luggage – they do it for you! I’m excited to try it. Have a great trip!

      • Shannan says:

        I haven’t flown in 17 years! I did book a nonstop flight though, so I at least won’t get lost switching planes 🙂

  2. kristi says:

    We are flying down in 14 days with a two and four year old. We will be armed with goldfish and a kindle fire equipped with disney movies. My two year old will have a kids digital camera and she will photograph her knees and the floor of the plane most of the trip. We used to take small toys but they just got dropped a lot and rolled around on the plane.

  3. Diana says:

    I believe we will be there the same time! Thanks for the ideas! We are so excited!

  4. disneynine says:

    It’s our first time flying with Tink – just the 10 hours from the UK! I’ve got a whole array of presents I’ve stocked up on – Mickey colouring book, comics, Mickey counting books, stickers, fuzzy felt, dress up book, a new Rapunzel purse and bangles … Basically something new for every hour. We’ve also got a ton of stuff on the iPad/iPod/iPhone too and got her special kiddie headphones. I’m also getting snacks for her incase she doesn’t like the plane food. I’m also taking her own travel cushion and blanket, hoping she’ll nap for a bit. And we’ve booked First Class for extra luggage and dedicated Check-in desk. Wow, I actually just made myself feel better reading that lol. We get there Sept 22. Hope everyone has a great trip!!!

Leave a Reply

