My Quick Pick: The Perfect Magic Kingdom Breakfast

Breakfast at Walt Disney World is a tricky thing for me. I need something substantial enough to get me through a very busy morning of touring but that won’t weigh me down in the heat and on my favorite coasters. Fruit is a bonus and I’m addicted to carbs. I’ll take pancakes over bacon and eggs any day of the week, even Sunday. Some other prerequisites are affordable and relatively quick.

After reading The Disney Food Blog, I thought I had a contender for my ideal Magic Kingdom Breakfast item and I’m happy to report that it lived up to my expectations. Sleepy Hollow Refreshments in Liberty Square offers Waffle with Nutella and Fruit. The only three food groups that matter (to me at least) – carbs, chocolate, and fruit – are in one satisfying breakfast item for $5.99.

My husband and I stopped at Sleepy Hollow mid-morning and were able to walk right up to the window to place our order. The only wait we had was a good one. Our waffle was prepared fresh. The thick waffle was similar in size to the ones you make yourself at hotels that offer hot breakfast items. I found the Nutella slathered on top to be in perfect proportion to the size and thickness of the waffle. There was enough to go around and it brought the waffle and fruit together without overpowering any flavors or adding too much sweetness. The strawberries, bananas, and blueberries were obviously very fresh, perfectly ripe, and unbruised. There was no cloying syrup masking imperfections in lower-quality fruit.

This waffle called for a knife and fork even though you could theoretically fold the waffle like a taco and eat it with one hand. Even shared, for me this waffle was very filling without being heavy-handed and at $5.99 it was a great value.

Now that I’ve shared my perfect Magic Kingdom breakfast item, what is yours?

Lisa M. Battista is the author of Beyond the Attractions: A Guide to Walt Disney World with Preschoolers. When she’s not chasing after her little ones, you can most likely find her at the beach or in the kitchen trying her hand at a new recipe. You can follow her on Twitter @DisneyExplorer or become a fan of Beyond the Attractions on Facebook.

About Lisa Battista

Lisa M. Battista is the author of Beyond the Attractions: A Guide to Walt Disney World with Preschoolers and a columnist at WDW Fan Zone. When she’s not chasing after her little ones, you can most likely find her at the beach or in the kitchen trying her hand at a new recipe. You can follow her on Twitter @DisneyExplorer or become a fan of Beyond the Attractions on Facebook.
This entry was posted in Dining and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

