Planning for Autographs at Walt Disney World

One thing our kids (and I) love to do at Walt Disney World is collect character’s autographs.  Most families travel to WDW with the thought of “getting autographs” but that’s as far as it goes.  Some families will buy or make autograph books prior to their vacation and others will buy the “official” autograph books once they arrive.  But, I want to give you a few other options for collecting character autographs at Walt Disney World.

1) Have the characters sign a hat.  We bought a khaki visor with a navy silhouette of Mickey on one trip and had the Fab 5 sign the hat.
2) On our last trip with our son, we took the Disney Junior Encyclopedia of Animated Characters to have them sign!  The characters loved seeing their picture in a book! 
3) A pillowcase is another fun way to collect the character’s autographs.  But, remember to bring something hard to put under the pillowcase before they sign!
4) Buy a canvas bag from a craft store and embroider, paint or “iron on” a Mickey to the front and have the characters sing the bag.
5) Buy a large, white photo mat prior to your trip.  Cut out a 4X6 rectangle in the center for a photo and have the characters sign on the mat.  After your trip, include a picture of you and your family with your favorite characters.
6) Having autographs on a tshirt is another fun way to remember your trip and who you met.  However, the characters will not sign the shirt if it’s on your body!  Carry the shirt with you and don’t forget to bring something hard to put under the shirt before they sign.
7)I personally like to get character autographs in the official WDW autograph book sold in all the gift shops.  But, once I get home, I tear out the pages to add to my scrapbook!  

What other suggestions do you have for creative ways to collect character autographs?

About Beth Green

I'm a mom to 3 boys (newborn, 3 and 11), wife, full time youth minister, Auburn University grad and lover of all things Disney! I live in North Alabama and try to visit Walt Disney World as often as possible! You can find my personal Disney blog at http://www.ADisneyMomsThoughts.com/
This entry was posted in Age 5-12, Ages 0-4, Charachters, Planning Information and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Planning for Autographs at Walt Disney World

  1. Amy says:

    These are great tips! I love the idea of a photo mat. Fantastic. I usually get a traditional autograph book, but only get signatures on one side so I can add a photo of my child with that character on the opposite side.

  2. Kristie Walters says:

    We make a photo album of previous pictures of our daughter and the characters. The characters then sign by their picture. We have had some interesting conversations and interactions with the characters while they look through the book and talk about how our daughter has grown and changed since her last visit. Walgreens has a special right now for brag books- 99 cents!!

  3. Judy says:

    We have been taking books with us for the past four years! My 4 year old daughter loves to see the autographs and talking about when she had the princess or character sign her book. My favorite book encounter was at O’hana’s. Stitch’s guide read some of the book to Stitch (the part about him being naughty) and Stitch just had to act it out! He took the book away and acted like he was licking it! We have the best pictures and everyone around, including cast members, stopped and laughed at his antics! At that moment, Stitch became one of my favorites!!

  4. Lorie says:

    Last summer, I had the characters sign quilt blocks with a laundry marker. I cut out squares of muslin and used a clipbaord for a firm writing surface. Once they were signed, I put them in aziploc bag for safe keeping. I will incorporate them into a quilt if I can ever decide on a pattern!

  5. Niocle says:

    Great tips! My favorite is #2 the Encyclopedia! In fact we are going in Sept. and bought one for each of my kids to use! I also bought a copy of the Princess Happily Ever After Stories for my daughter to collect the princesses autographs! I am so excited to get the autographs this way so when we get home the kids will be excited to read and show off their books!

  6. Amanda says:

    Last year I used scrapbook paper and made a designated page for each character using cut out shapes in the theme of that character… for example for Belle, she signed on a page themed with books and roses! The characters loved it and spent a lot of time looking through the book at each meeting and checking out all the different pages!

Leave a Reply

