Toes in the Sand

Toes in the Sand at the Grand Floridian

This week, my family and I are vacationing at the beach.  And, while I’m sitting on my beach chair in the sand, watching the tide come in and reading a good book, my mind is drifting back to our January trip to Walt Disney World.

I don’t know about you, but the beach is usually not at the top of my list of things to do at Walt Disney World.  I’m all about the parks!  But, sometimes we do get tired and feel like we want to spend some time relaxing.

Previously, here at The Disney Moms, I shared about our visit to the Garden View Tea Room in the Grand Floridian. What I didn’t mention is what my daughter and I did BEFORE the tea . . .

View of the Polynesian Resort from the beach at the Grand Floridian

We arrived at the Grand Floridian a few hours before we were set to meet our friends for tea.  We walked around the resort – both inside and out.  We love strolling through the shops – especially Basin!  But, our main purpose of arriving early was to stroll along the beach for awhile.  We ended up sitting on one of the little “cabana chairs” and just enjoying the sun, the sand, and the view.  Talk about peaceful and relaxing!  I could have literally sat there all day!

Watching the ferry from the beach at the Grand Floridian

Disney’s Grand Floridian and Polynesian Resorts both have beaches on the Seven Seas Lagoon.  While swimming is no longer permitted, the beach atmosphere is a beautiful and inviting setting.  But, these aren’t the only beaches in the Walt Disney World Resort – there are plenty more!

So, the next time you’re at Walt Disney World and are looking for a relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle that is the parks, be sure to check out one of these beaches:

  • Crescent Lake beaches – Disney’s Yacht & Beach Club (also easily accessible from Disney’s Boardwalk Resort)
  • Bay Lake beaches – Fort Wilderness Resort (campground & cabins), Disney’s Wilderness Lodge, and Disney’s Contemporary Resort
  • Barefoot Bay – Disney’s Caribbean Beach Resort
  • Lago Dorado – Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort
  • There is also a white-sand beach that is shared between the Walt Disney World Swan & Dolphin

Do you spend time on the Disney beaches when you are on vacation?  If so, I’d love to hear about it.  Which beach is your favorite?  And why?

About disneymomheidi

I'm a stay-at-home, work-at-home, homeschooling mom. I live in central PA with my husband and 3 great kids (ages 18, 11, and 5). We all love Walt Disney World and visit as often as our schedule and finances allow! I like sharing my passion for Disney with others, and meeting new Disney-loving friends. You can find my personal blog at http://heidi-strawser.com.
This entry was posted in Beyond the Parks, Resort Stays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Toes in the Sand

  1. Kristi says:

    Great article Heidi. We are heading to the Contemporary this fall and I will definitely check out the beaches.

  2. Sheila Fretz says:

    This sounds like fun, I have stayed at Contemporary before but never hit the beach when I was there.

  3. SABRINA PUGLIESE says:

    We are planning our very first Disney World family vacation for next June! I’m so excited! We have 3 boys, ages: 12, 5, and 6. We are on a very tight budget, so I would love to have any tips or money saving ideas you have!
    We did find a great hotel at downtown Disney with a great pool’waterslide, 2 rooms, with a kitchen. The Caribe Royal. Please send me a message if you have any more ideas!

Leave a Reply

