Chef Mickey’s Character Meal: Is It Worth the Big Buck$?

Welcome to Chef Mickey’s at Disney’s Contemporary Resort.

Every photo has a story.

Disney Moms have stories galore of character meals with their kids, yet I was an ancient forty-two before I ever dined with a character and munched on a Mickey waffle.  Why did it take so long?  Probably the cost. My pre-teen sons paid for my first character meal breakfast last Christmas Eve as my Christmas present.  Was it worth the wait?  In my opinion, most definitely.

Chef Mickey’s is a restaurant in Disney‘s Contemporary Resort which serves a buffet-style breakfast and dinner, all the while Disney characters make their way around the room and to your table for photos. Chef Mickey, Minnie, all sorts of their Disney pals, a monorail zipping through the building, and some amazing seasonal dishes provide the makings of quite a memorable meal.

Picture this…The all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet serves up drinks, fruit, cereal, pancakes with toppings, Mickey Mouse-shaped waffles, eggs, omelettes and delectable pastries.

I think I mentioned price was a factor in my later-in-life character meal experience.  I am not the biggest breakfast eater on vacation, and characters are cute, but you know, I’m old, and I’m mainly behind the camera, not waiting to pose with Goofy.  Plus I’m really just pretty cheap.  When I asked my sons if they felt like they had gotten their money’s worth, because not only did they pay for my meal, but they also bought half of their own breakfast as well, neither hesitated to say yes.  They said they had a great time, and they wanted to make this an annual experience. Even when I told them we could have eaten a similar meal downstairs at the Contemporary Resort’s The Wave restaurant for almost half the amount, they both replied they liked the characters and the upstairs location.  I told them I should start rolling change so I can afford my own meal next time.
Just what is the price?  The cost is $15 to $35.99 for the Chef Mickey’s character breakfast, not including the tip, which is a recommended 18% to 20%.  
How do you make reservations?  You can book online or call (407) WDW-DINE or (407) 939-3463 up to 180 days before your visit.  You must use your credit card to hold your reservation, and if you cancel within 24 hours of your reservation, or heavens-to-Mickey, you don’t make it to the meal,  a cancellation fee per person of $10 will be charged to your credit card.  If this is a really special occasion, celebration cakes are available for an additional charge.  You can order your cake a mere 48 hours in advance by calling (407) 827-2253.
Whew, $40 for one adult breakfast. I could feed my family of five for less than this at McDonald’s, but this is a Disney vacation, and Chef Mickey doesn’t dance and pose for photos at Burger King.  I say give it a whirl, and make sure you double up on the pastries before you monorail yourself over to the Magic Kingdom.

Thanks for coming along for a photographical ride!

Amanda from mouzekateerz.com.

Enjoy Disney World photography?  Take a virtual Disney vacation each day in pictures on Mouze Kateerz on Facebook and mouzekateerz.com.  You can see even more great pictures by visiting Mouze Kateerz on Pinterest.  Shoot me an email of your favorite Disney location or architectural wonder at mouzekateerz@chipandco.com.

See ya at the breakfast buffet!

About Disney's Cheapskate Princess

Disney's Cheapskate Princess writes about Disney merchandise, attractions, and delicious snacks. Visit her at cheapskateprincess.com.
This entry was posted in Dining, Photography, Planning Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chef Mickey’s Character Meal: Is It Worth the Big Buck$?

  1. My Disney trip is not complete without a stop at Chef Mickey’s. We always go for dinner, and I agree it is very pricey even for Disney standards, but such a unique and memorable experience. Where else can you fling your napkin above your head and laugh with everyone else doing it?!?!?

  2. I was a similiar type of cynic. My husband literally had to THREATEN me to get me to even go to Disney World, much less spend all that money on Character meals. I thought it was CRAZY! Until I actually went and had a ball. Now, we always get the dining plan so we can go to every character breakfast (that’s what we like best!)
    Amanda

  3. Heidi says:

    This is one character dining experience that we have yet to try, and I’m not even sure why. We’ll have to be sure to add it to our line-up on a future trip, I guess.

  4. Pingback: Whispering Canyon Cafe at Wilderness Lodge: Three Reasons It’s a Disney Must-Eat! – Mouze Kateerz

  5. Pingback: Disney by the Numbers: Photographing Cinderella Castle – Mouze Kateerz

  6. Pingback: Food Experiences at Disney Not to Be Missed | Meet the Magic

  7. Pingback: Disney’s Famous Le Cellier Restaurant: Is It Really Worth the Big Buck$?! – Mouze Kateerz

Leave a Reply

